Robert Dole photo

Press Release - South Carolina Legislators Endorse Dole

February 14, 1996

Forty Four Members of General Assembly Support Campaign

The Dole for President campaign today announced the 44 members of the South Carolina General Assembly who are supporting Senator Bob Dole's Presidential campaign. The announcement was made by Speaker David Wilkins, Dole Campaign Steering Committee Chairman.

Speaker Wilkins said, "my colleagues standing with me today share our belief that Senator Dole has the unique qualities of character, experience and leadership that will lead America into the next century. We need someone like Bob Dole who believes in the conservative values that made this state and country great: faith in God, belief in community, personal responsibility and love of family."

"We're delighted to have the support of this distinguished group of legislators," said Dole campaign manager Scott Reed. "They share Bob Dole's vision of reining in the runaway power of the federal government and reconnecting Washington with the common-sense values of the people of South Carolina."

South Carolina holds its presidential primary on March 2 and will send 37 delegates to the Republican convention in San Diego in August. Dole remains the overwhelming favorite to win the GOP Presidential nomination. A recent Time/CNN poll shows Dole leading the Republican field with 47% of the vote -- 30 percentage points ahead of his nearest rival.

Senator Ty Courtney

Senator John Drummond

Senator Warren Giese

Senator Robert Waldrep

Senator Greg Ryberg

Senator Hugh Leatherman

Senator Larry Martin

Senator Larry Richter

Senator Mike Rose

Representative Rita Allison

Representative Henry Brown

Representative Brad Cain

Representative C.D. Chamblee

Representative Harry Cato

Representative Bill Cotty

Representative Tom Dantzler

Representative John Felder

Representative Ron Fulmer

Representative Bobby Harrell

Representative Jim Harrison

Representative Heyward Hutson

Representative Mike Jaskwhich

Representative Tom Keegan

Representative Jim Klauber

Representative Larry Koon

Representative Steve Lanford

Representative James Law

Representative Chip Limehouse

Representative Claude Marchbanks

Representative Becky Meacham

Representative Bill Sandifer

Representative Charles Sharpe

Representative June Shissias

Representative Gary Simrill

Representative Roland Smith

Representative Ronnie Townsend

Representative Dave Waldrop

Representative Mickey Whatley

Representative David Wilkins

Representative Billy Witherspoon

Representative Sandy Wofford

Representative Harold Worley

Representative Annette Young-Brickell

Representative Jeff Young

Robert Dole, Press Release - South Carolina Legislators Endorse Dole Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives