Tim Pawlenty photo

Press Release - Minnesota Conservatives Endorse Pawlenty for President

June 29, 2011

Over 100 leaders from around Minnesota endorsed Gov. Tim Pawlenty for President today, including dozens of state legislators, grassroots Republican leaders, and community leaders. The Minnesotans endorsing Gov. Pawlenty said they appreciated his success in winning battles with Minnesota's liberals and delivering real conservative reforms.

"For the last eight years, I did more than just talk about moving Minnesota in a conservative direction – I actually did it," Gov. Pawlenty said. "I'm humbled by this strong showing of support from so many conservative leaders from around Minnesota. Their support is a real validation of our record of delivering conservative results."

The list of new Minnesotans endorsing Gov. Pawlenty includes:

• Rep. Paul Anderson, Starbuck, MN

• Al & Cathy Annexstad, Shorewood, MN: Al is Chairman of Federated Insurance

• Jeff Backer, Browns Valley, MN: Small business owner and Mayor of Browns Valley

• Matt Benda, Albert Lea, MN: Activist and lawyer at Peterson Savelkoul & Benda

• Craig Bentdahl & Stephanie Simon, Edina, MN: Former CEO, Excel Bank

• Andy Brehm, Wayzata, MN: Activist and lawyer at Dorsey & Whitney

• Ward & Kris Brehm, Wayzata, MN: Ward is CEO & Founder of The Brehm Group

• Brianna Chambers, Saint Paul, MN: Former BPOU Chair (HD 64B)

• Carleton Crawford, Minneapolis, MN: Activist and former Chairman of the 5th Congressional District Republicans

• Sen. Ted Daley, Eagan, MN

• Rep. Kurt Daudt, Crown, MN: State Vice Chair for the 8th Congressional District Republicans

• Mark Davis, Le Sueur, MN: President and CEO of Davisco Foods International

• Richard Davis, Minneapolis, MN: Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of U.S. Bancorp, Chairman of the Financial Services Roundtable and representative for the Ninth District of the Federal Reserve where he serves on its Financial Advisory Committee.

• Randy Demmer, Hayfield, MN: 1st Congressional District candidate in 2010 and State Representative from 2002-2010

• Rep. Connie Doepke, Orono, MN

• Beth Dorobiala, Woodbury, MN: Former Chair of the Minnesota College Republicans

• Scott Dutcher, Brandon, MN: Activist and State Vice-Chair for the 7th Congressional District Republicans

• Dave & Sandy Frauenshuh, Bloomington, MN: Dave is CEO of Frauenshuh Companies

• Rep. Pat Garofalo, Farmington, MN: Chairman of the Education Finance Committee

• Michael & Elizabeth Gorman, Edina, MN: Managing Partner at Split Rock Partners

• Rep. Steve Gottwalt, St. Cloud, MN

• Jeff & Teri Greiner, Greenwood, MN: Partner at Norwest Equity

• Lori Grivna, Shoreview, MN: Activist and former School Board Member

• Nancy Haapoja, Redwood Falls, MN: Activist and BPOU Chair (Redwood County)

• Jim & Kathy Haglund, Golden Valley, MN: Jim is the CEO of Central Container Corp

• Rep. Rod Hamilton, Mountain Lake, MN: Majority Whip

• Bill & Sharon Hawkins, Wayzata, MN: Bill is Chairman and CEO of Medtronic

• Sue Hilgart, Brainerd, MN: Activist and former State Vice Chair for the 8th Congressional District Republicans

• Karin Housley, St. Mary's Point, MN: Former Republican State Senate Candidate and Small Business Owner

• Sen. John Howe, Red Wing, MN: Former Mayor of Red Wing

• Stanley S. & Karen H. Hubbard, St. Paul, MN: Stanley is CEO of Hubbard Broadcasting

• Gary Iocco, Red Wing, MN: Activist and Small Business Owner

• Abdul-Rahman Magba Kamara, Oakdale, MN: Former Chairman of the Minnesota College Republicans

• Dave Kleis, St. Cloud, MN: Mayor of St. Cloud and former State Senator

• Jim Knoblach, St. Cloud, MN: Former State Representative

• Rep. John Kriesel, Cottage Grove, MN

• Paul Kohls, Victoria, MN: Former State Representative

• Brad Kustermann, Blaine, MN: Activist and Legislative Staffer in Minnesota Senate

• Derrick Lehrke, Cottage Grove, MN: Activist and Member of the Cottage Grove City Council

• Rep. Mike LeMieur, Little Falls, MN

• Rep. Jenifer Loon, Eden Prairie, MN

• Ted Lovdahl, Effie, MN: Chairman of the 8th Congressional District Republicans

• Sen. Doug Magnus, Slayton, MN: Assistant Majority Leader and Chairman of the Senate Agriculture and Rural Economies Committee

• Rep. Denny McNamara, Hastings, MN: Chairman of the House Environment Committee

• Sen. Geoff Michel, Edina, MN: Deputy Majority Leader and Attorney at Securian Financial

• Katie Nadeau, Rogers, MN: Activist

• Ford & Catherine Nicholson, Dellwood, MN: Ford is a Private Investor

• Harry Niska, Ramsey, MN: BPOU Chairman (SD 48) and Lawyer at Ross & Orenstein

• Andy Noble, Saint Paul, MN: Chairman of the Saint Paul Republicans

• Don & Bev Oren, Roseville, MN: Dan is CEO of Dart Transit, and Beverly is the former Executive Vice President at Dart

• Tim & Rosie Owens, Eden Prairie, MN: Tim is President and CEO of Voyager

• Jerry Paar, Edina, MN: Activist and former Co-Chair of the 3rd Congressional District Republicans

• Greg & Cindy Page, Minnetonka, MN: Greg is CEO of Cargill, Incorporated and Carlson Companies and non-executive Chair of the Board of Big Brothers Big Sisters of America

• Jerry & Pat Papenfuss, Winona, MN: Jerry is the Owner of Result Radio Group

• Andrew & Leslie Parker, Minneapolis, MN: Andrew is a Partner at Parker Rosen

• Rebecca Peichel, Fairfax, MN: Activist and legislative staffer in Minnesota House

• Steve Perkins, Luverne, MN: Activist and State Vice-Chair for the 1st Congressional District Republicans

• Bill & Teri Popp, Golden Valley, MN: Bill is the CEO of Popp Telecom

• Linda Presthus, Edina, MN: Activist and former Co-Chair of the 3rd Congressional District Republicans

• Pat & Ann Ryan, Tonka Bay, MN: Pat is the CEO and President of Ryan Companies US, Inc.

• Steve Sanger, Wayzata, MN: Former CEO and Chairman of General Mills. He also serves on the boards of Minneapolis retailer Target Corp., San Francisco bank Wells Fargo & Co. and the Guthrie Theater in Minneapolis

• Ron & Janet Schutz, Medina, MN: Ron is the Chair of the Intellectual Property Litigation Group at Robins Kaplan Miller & Ciresi and a member of the firm's Executive Board.

• Doug & Hilory Seaton, Edina, MN: Doug is a Partner at Seaton, Peters & Revnew

• Bob & Pam Senkler, White Bear Lake, MN: Bob is the CEO of Securian

• Warren & Mary Staley, Edina, MN: Warren is a retired CEO of Cargill

• Tom & Karen Stauber, Chaska, MN: Tom is President of Edwards Sales

• Rep. Kirk Stensrud, Eden Prairie, MN

• Terry Stone, International Falls, MN: Small Business Owner and BPOU Chairman (Koochiching County)

• Steve Sviggum, Kenyon, MN: Former Speaker of the Minnesota House

• Dave Thul, Owatonna, MN: Chairman of the 1st Congressional District Republicans

• Bob Ulrich, Edina, MN: Retired CEO, Target

• Denny & Amanda Walsh, Orono, MN: Denny is the Owner of Walsh Partners and has been in the tenant-representation business for nearly 20 years

• Rep. Torrey Westrom, Elbow Lake, MN: Speaker Pro Tempore and Chairman of the Civil Law Committee

• Wheelock Whitney, Minneapolis, MN: Investor, Self-employed

• Jennifer Wilson, Hermantown, MN: Activist

• Scott & Jill Wine, Plymouth, MN: Scott is the CEO of Polaris Industries, Inc.

• Rep. Kelby Woodard, Belle Plaine, MN

• Rep. Kurt Zellers, Maple Grove: Speaker of the Minnesota House of Representatives

Tim Pawlenty, Press Release - Minnesota Conservatives Endorse Pawlenty for President Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/296623

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives