Mitt Romney photo

Press Release - Florida Legislators Endorse Governor Mitt Romney

April 23, 2007


Kevin Madden (857) 288 - 6390

Boston, MA - During a visit to Tallahassee today to meet with state and local leaders, Governor Mitt Romney announced that 10 Florida legislators have endorsed his candidacy for President. These members of the Florida State Legislature include State Senators JD Alexander, Carey Baker and Stephen R. Wise as well as State Representatives Marti Coley, Michael J. Grant, Alan Hays, Ed Hooper, Trey Traviesa and Trudi Williams.

"I am proud to have the support of these respected and accomplished lawmakers," said Governor Romney. "Through Republican leadership, Florida has become a national model for translating conservative principles into successful policies. We showed the same type of discipline in Massachusetts and that is exactly what is needed now in Washington. I look forward to sharing my vision with Floridians as we discuss the solutions needed to meet a new generation of challenges."

These leaders join a strong and growing Florida organization that includes an accomplished Florida Steering Committee and a Florida Statewide Finance Team comprised of nearly 80 business and community leaders from across the state. The Florida Steering Committee is chaired by former Lieutenant Governor Toni Jennings, former Speakers of the House Allan Bense and John Thrasher, former Chairman of the Florida Republican Party Al Cardenas and U.S. Congressman Tom Feeney.

Additional Florida legislators who have endorsed Governor Romney include State Representatives Dennis Baxley, Jennifer Carroll, Anitere Flores and Dick Kravitz. Former Senator and Chairman of the Republican Party of Florida Van Poole and former Representative Dudley Goodlette have also endorsed Governor Romney. Each serves as a Co-Chair of Governor Romney's Steering Committee.

New Florida Legislators Endorsing Governor Mitt Romney:

- State Senator JD Alexander – Senate District 17, consisting of Hardee, Highlands and parts of DeSoto, Glades, Okeechobee, Polk and St. Lucie Counties.

- State Senator Carey Baker – Senate District 20, consisting of parts of Lake, Marion, Seminole, Sumter, and Volusia Counties.

- State Senator Stephen R. Wise – Senate District 5, consisting of parts of Clay, Duval, Nassau, and St. Johns Counties.

- State Representative Marti Coley – House District 7, consisting of parts of Bay, Calhoun, Gadsden, Jackson, Leon, Liberty, Okaloosa, Wakulla, and Walton Counties.

- State Representative Michael J. Grant – House District 71, consisting of parts of Charlotte, Lee and Sarasota Counties.

- State Representative Alan Hayes – House District 25, consisting of parts of Lake, Seminole and Volusia Counties.

- State Representative Ed Hooper – House District 50, consisting of parts of Pinellas County.

- State Representative Trey Traviesa – House District 56, consisting of parts of Hillsborough County.

- State Representative Trudi Williams – House District 75, consisting of parts of Collier and Lee Counties.

Mitt Romney, Press Release - Florida Legislators Endorse Governor Mitt Romney Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives