Ted Cruz photo

Press Release - Cruz Announces 57 Additions to Tennessee Leadership Team, Totaling 84 Conservative Leaders

October 22, 2015

HOUSTON, Texas — Presidential candidate Ted Cruz today announced the expansion of his Tennessee Leadership Team, with new endorsements from nine state legislators and 48 pastors, grassroots leaders, and elected officials. These new additions join 27 leaders previously announced, bringing the campaign's state leadership team to a total of 84 members.

"Our Tennessee team continues to grow and demonstrate the commitment to fighting for conservative principles," said Cruz. "I'm encouraged by the new members of the team who have passionately defended liberty and will help us compete and win the state of Tennessee."

New endorsements include former House Speaker Pro-Tempore Judd Matheny, former talk radio host Steve Gill, and the president of the Tennessee Pastors Network Dale Walker.

New State Leadership Team members:

Rep. Judd Matheny, 47th District, former House Speaker Pro-Tempore and Coffee County Republican Party Chairman

Rep. Sheila Butt, 64th District, House Majority Floor Leader

Rep. Kelly Keisling, 38th District, House Insurance and Banking Subcommittee Chairman

Rep. Mike Sparks, 49th District, Vice Chair of the House Local Government Committee

Rep. Courtney Rogers, 45th District, House Transportation Committee Vice Chair, Retired Lt. Colonel, U.S. Air Force, and Nuclear Advisor

Rep. Micah Van Huss, 6th District, House Criminal Justice Committee Vice Chair, Retired Marine Sniper

Rep. Jerry Sexton, 35th District, House Majority Assistant Floor Leader, Pastor

Rep. Jay Reedy, 74th District, U.S. Army Veteran

Rep. Jason Zachary, 14th District, Americomm Principal and Executive Vice President

Steve Gill, former Host of The Steve Gill Show

Dana Gill, Williamson County

Tina Benkiser, Tennessee Republican Party State Executive Committeewoman, former Republican Party of Texas Chairman, former Senior Advisor to Gov. Rick Perry

Lynne Davis, Tennessee Republican Party State Executive Committeewoman

Scott Smith, Tennessee Republican Party State Executive Committeeman

Chris Thompson, former Mayor of Byrdstown, former Pickett County Republican Party Chairman

John Uitendaal, Dyer County Legislative Body Chairman

Rob Mathis, Cocke County Trustee

Reggie Howard, Fayette County Commissioner

Richard Daniel, Pickett County Executive

Josh Stites, former Nashville Metro Councilman

Ben Graham, Tennessee Pastors Network Vice Presdient, Pastor of Music City Baptist Church

David Baker, Pastor of the Family Baptist Church

Dale Walker, President of the Tennessee Pastors Network, Pastor of Union Hill Wesleyan Church

Kevin Burden, Senior Pastor of Cornerstone Baptist Church

Rob Bremer, retired Pastor, past Chairman of the Sevier County Tea Party

Phil Hauser, Assistant Pastor, Fellowship Community Church

Roger Burks, Treasurer/Secretary of the Tennessee Pastors Network

Paul Grant, Ruling Elder, Faith Presbyterian Church

Sharon Strange, past President of Republican Women of Williamson County

Dr. Aaron Margulies, President of the Republican Jewish Coalition of Knoxville

David Baldovin, former Chairman, Moore County Republican Party

Lynn Moss, Co-Founder and Board Member, Mid-South Tea Party

Janice Johnson, former Legislative Director of the Tennessee Christian Coalition

Laurie Cardoza-Moore, President of Proclaiming Justice To the Nations, and Special Envoy to the UN for the World Council of Independent Christian Churches

Richard Archie, West Tennessee Director of the Tennessee Firearms Association, Chairman of the 8th District Tea Party Coalition

Lana Smith, past President of the Sullivan County Republican Women

Edward Phillips, former Campaign Manager for Rep. Mark Pody and Rep. Joe Carr

Kevin Baigert, Sumner County

Laura Baigert, Sumner County

Lucy Overstreet, Leader of the Madison County Tea Party

Claire Crouch, past President of the Tennessee Federation of Republican Women

Ed Smith, former Davidson County District 34 Republican Chairman, Bronze Star recipient

Craig Reasor, former Field Director for Rep. Jason Zachary

Judson Phillips, Founder of Tea Party Nation and Columnist for the Washington Times

Bob Miles, Executive Board Member of the Cross County Patriots Tea Party

Greg Johnson, former Vice President and Treasurer of the 912 Project Tennessee

Aaron Snodderly, former State Chairman of Tennessee Young Republican Federation and Chairman of the Cumberland County Republican Party

Mel Canterbury, Chairman of the Sevier County Tea Party

Michaele Ann Swiderski, Polk County

William Swiderski, Polk County

Bryan Baskin, former Middle Tennessee Volunteer Coordinator for Santorum for President

Theresa West, Chair of the Knoxville Tea Party

Debbie Deaver, Board Member, Republican Women of Williamson County

Walter Lounsbery, past President of the Anderson County Tea Party Patriots

Penny Chastain, Humphreys County

Andrew Anderson, former Campaign Manager for Rep. Bryan Terry and Rep. Joe Carr

Matthew Studd, Chapter Leader of the Tennessee Firearms Association

Previously announced leadership team members:

Kevin Kookogey, State Chair

Stephen Siao, State Director

Joe Carr, former State Representative

Ben Cunningham, President of the Nashville Tea Party

Myra Simons, Board President of the Yes on 1 Campaign

Julie West, President of Parents for Truth in Education

Lyndon Allen, Pastor of Woodmont Bible Church

Mark West, President of the Chattanooga Tea Party

Tommy Vallejos, Montgomery County Commissioner, Pastor

James Amundsen, Williamson County

Charlie Cato, former Tennessee Republican Party State Executive Committeeman

Bob Crigger, Maury County

Kim Dahlgren, past President of the Washington County Republican Women

Dr. Lee Douglas, Founder of 912 Project Tennessee

Karen Entz, former Vice Treasurer for the Williamson County Republican Party

Hope Foulds, Knox County

Michelle Garcia, Rutherford County

Frank Gorgie, Political Science Professor

Grant Hubbard, Vice President for National Promotion at Capitol CMG

Katherine Hudgins, former Vice President of the 912 Project Tennessee

Kyle Mallory, former Chairman of the Stewart County Republican Party

John Miles, Chairman of the Union City Planning Commission and Chairman of the Obion County Tea Party

Steve Osborn, past Chairman of the Sevier County Tea Party

Rob Thacker, Pastor of Faith Presbyterian Church

Jim Vesper, former Newt Gingrich County Coordinator

Mick Wright, former President of the Northeast Shelby Republican Club

Michael Zinser, President of the Zinser Law Firm, P.C.

Ted Cruz, Press Release - Cruz Announces 57 Additions to Tennessee Leadership Team, Totaling 84 Conservative Leaders Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/314705

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives