Photo of Joe Biden

Press Release - Biden Campaign Announces Local Endorsements in Iowa

December 05, 2007

Announces New Local Support Following Four-Day Trip to the State

Des Moines, IA (December 5, 2007) - The Biden for President Campaign today announced the addition of over fifty new prominent local leaders in Iowa to its statewide steering committee. These local elected officials, Democratic Party activists and community leaders from across the Hawkeye State will be instrumental in helping the campaign organize throughout Iowa in the final weeks leading up to the January 3rd caucuses.

"I am endorsing Sen. Biden because over the years he's been the Democrats' leader in supporting law enforcement," said Dubuque County Sheriff Ken Runde, "and as a veteran myself, I believe he is best prepared to resolve the war in Iraq and is right to support our troops. Joe Biden is as down to earth as you can get and he is a fair and honest man."

Former DNC member and longstanding Iowa caucus veteran Paulee Lipsman said, "I looked over the field and talked to friends and family who had Joe Biden at the top of their list. I have finally decided, as have many others, that Joe Biden in fact will make a great president and I want to do everything I can to help him win.

"We are honored that these Iowans pledged to support Sen. Biden. This group of community leaders reveals the grassroots energy behind Sen. Biden that's spreading across Iowa. We look forward to their help in building toward a successful caucus day." said Biden for President Political Director Danny O'Brien.

The full list of individuals who endorsed Joe Biden for President today includes:

Paulee Lipsman, Former Member of the Democratic National Committee, Polk County

Ken Runde, Dubuque County Sheriff

Grant Veeder, Black Hawk County Auditor

Chuck Larson, Fremont County Supervisor

Craig White, Black Hawk County Supervisor

Marty Larsen, Sheriff of Chickasaw County

Bob Elliott, Democratic Activist, Johnson County

Les Aasheim, Mayor of Clive, Polk County

Sharon Aasheim, Democratic Activist, Polk County

Ann Michalski, Dubuque City Councilwoman, Dubuque County

Susan Dunek, Keokuk City Councilwoman, Lee County

Lou Galetich, Norwalk School Board Member, Boone County

George Meinecke, Norwalk School Board Member, Warren County

Jill Morrill, Johnston School Board Member, Polk County

Margaret Moore, Walker Councilwoman, Linn County

Everett Moore, Former Walker Mayor, Linn County

Don Schultz, Former State Representative, Black Hawk County

Gene Blanshan, Former State Representative, Guthrie County

Chuck Taylor, Fayette County Democratic Party Chair

Jamie Hogan, Adams County Democratic Party Chair

Don Wills, Vice Chair of the Greene County Democratic Central Committee

Jim Carnahan, Former Polk County Democratic Chair

Steve Hodge, Former School Board Member, Former Polk County Democratic Party Chair, Dubuque County

Doug Jones, Vice Chair of the Decatur County Democratic Central Committee

Diane Bolte, Clinton County Democratic Secretary

Matt Porter, President of CWA Local 7108, Black Hawk County

Laurie Soroka, Vice President of CWA Local 7102, Polk County

Nick Powers, UAW Local 838 Member, Black Hawk County

Don Krause, Des Moines, Polk County

Linda Krause, Des Moines, Polk County

Pat Johnson, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen Union, Retired, Clinton County

Tom Avenarius, Dubuque Candidate for State Representative, UAW Retiree and Vietnam Veteran

Steve Wandro, Attorney and Democratic Activist, Polk County

Sara Riley, Local Attorney, Linn County

Nate Boulton, Labor Lawyer and Democratic Activist, Polk County

U.J. Booth, Local Attorney, Community Activist and Veteran, Clarke County

Linda Booth, Community Activist, Clarke County

Carlton Blackburn, President of Connections, Johnson County

Arleon Kelley, Methodist Minister, Fayette County

Doug Burks, Chief Pharmacist Winneshiek Medical Center, Winneshiek County

Sue Burks, Pharmacist and Small Business Owner, Winneshiek County

Debbie Hillman, Shenandoah Hospital Nurse, Page County

Steven Schmit, Ed. D., Director of the Division of Postdoctoral Training for the American Osteopathic Association, Black Hawk County

Anita Quirk, Educator, Chickasaw County

Marylyn Bruce, Democratic Activist, Polk County

Cheri Canier, Democratic Activist, Clinton County

Mike Finnegan, Democratic Activist, Clermont, Fayette County

Cathy Hermes, Democratic Activist, Davenport, Scott County

Mary Kennedy, Democratic Activist, Polk County

JoAnn McKibben, Cumming, Warren County

Barry McKibben, Cumming, Warren County

Gabriel Russo, St. Charles, Madison

Patty Russo, St. Charles, Madison

Joseph R. Biden, Press Release - Biden Campaign Announces Local Endorsements in Iowa Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives