George W. Bush photo

President Orders Federal Aid for Oklahoma

February 02, 2002

On February 1, 2002, the President declared a major disaster exists in the State of Oklahoma and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by a severe winter ice storm on January 30, 2002, and continuing.

The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected local governments in a 28 county area. The counties include Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Cimarron, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Harper, Kay, Kingfisher, Logan, Major, Noble, Oklahoma, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Roger Mills, Texas, Washington, Washita, Woods and Woodward.

Federal funding is available to eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for debris removal and emergency protective measures, including direct Federal assistance, at 75 percent Federal funding. Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

Joe M. Allbaugh, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), named James Roche as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional assistance and counties may be added after the assessments are completed.


George W. Bush, President Orders Federal Aid for Oklahoma Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives