George W. Bush photo

President Orders Federal Aid for Arkansas

January 24, 2002

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Arkansas and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms and flooding beginning on December 15, 2001, and continuing.

The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected local governments in a 16 county area. The counties include Ashley, Clay, Cleburne, Columbia, Crittenden, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Little River, Logan, Monroe, Poinsett, Prairie, Scott, Stone, and Woodruff.

Federal funding is available to eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding. Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

Joe M. Allbaugh, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), named Joe Bray as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional assistance and counties may be added after the assessments are completed.


George W. Bush, President Orders Federal Aid for Arkansas Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives