George W. Bush photo

Personnel Announcement

August 19, 2008

President George W. Bush today announced that The Honorable Elaine L. Chao, Secretary of Labor, will now serve as Head of Delegation of the Presidential Delegation attending the Closing Ceremony of the Olympic Games in Beijing, China on August 24, 2008.

Secretary Chao replaces Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, whose travel schedule has changed due to developing world events.

Members of the Presidential Delegation:

The Honorable Michael O. Leavitt, Secretary of Health and Human Services

The Honorable Clark T. Randt, Jr., United States Ambassador to the People's Republic of China

The Honorable Karen Hughes, Global Vice Chair of Burson-Marsteller

Mr. Peter Ueberroth, President of the United States Olympic Committee

Ms. Michelle Kwan, Figure Skating Champion and American Public Diplomacy Envoy

George W. Bush, Personnel Announcement Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project