Andrew Johnson

Executive Order—Special Orders: 211

May 06, 1865



4. A military commission is hereby appointed to meet at Washington, D.C., on Monday, the 8th day of May, 1865, at 9 o'clock a. m., or as soon thereafter as practicable, for the trial of David E. Herold, George A. Atzerodt, Lewis Payne, Michael O'Laughlin, Edward Spangler, Samuel Arnold, Mary E. Surratt, Samuel A. Mudd, and such other prisoners as may be brought before it, implicated in the murder of the late President, Abraham Lincoln, and the attempted assassination of the Hon. William H. Seward, Secretary of State, and in an alleged conspiracy to assassinate other officers of the Federal Government at Washington City, and their alders and abettors.

Detail for the court.

Major-General David Hunter, United States Volunteers.

Major-General Lewis Wallace, United States Volunteers.

Brevet Major-General August V. Kautz, United States Volunteers.

Brigadier-General Albion P. Howe, United States Volunteers.

Brigadier-General Robert S. Foster, United States Volunteers.

Brevet Brigadier-General Cyrus B. Comstock,* United States Volunteers.

Brigadier-General T. M. Harris, United States Volunteers.

Brevet Colonel Horace Porter,+ aid-de-camp.

Lieutenant-Colonel David R. Clendenin, Eighth Illinois Cavalry.

Brigadier-General Joseph Holt, Judge-Advocate-General, United States Army, is appointed the judge-advocate and recorder of the commission, to be aided by such assistant or special judge-advocate as he may designate.

The commission will sit without regard to hours.

By order of the President of the United States:


Assistant Adjutant-General.

*Brevet Brigadier-General James A. Ekin substituted;

+Brevet Colonel C. H. Tompkins substituted; see Special Orders, No. 210

Andrew Johnson, Executive Order—Special Orders: 211 Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives